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PART 1  

PERSISTENTLY DANGEROUS SCHOOLS 

 

I. INTRODUCTION 
 

The Unsafe School Choice Option-which is mandated by Section 9532 of the Elementary 
and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) of 1965, as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act 
of 2001 (20 U.S.C. § 7912)-requires that each state receiving funds under the ESEA 
establish and implement a statewide policy requiring that a student who attends a 
"persistently dangerous" public school, as well as a student who becomes the victim of a 
violent criminal offense while in or on the grounds of any public school that he or  she 
attends, be allowed to attend a safe public school. 

 
 
II. DEFINITION OF A "PERSISTENTLY DANGEROUS SCHOOL" 

 
A South Carolina public school or charter school will be considered "persistently dangerous" 
if its conditions expose students to injury from violent criminal offenses for a period of three 
consecutive years. For the 2002-03 school year, however, the South Carolina Department 
of Education (SCDE) will review crime data only from the past two school years, 2001-02 
and 2002-03, in making the determination that a school must be designated as persistently 
dangerous. Beginning in the 2003-04 school year, the SCDE will review data from the 
past three years (2001-02, 2002-03, and 2003-04) to make this determination. After the 
2003-04 school year, data from the past three consecutive years will be used. 

 
 
Ill. CRITERIA USED TO IDENTIFY A PERSISTENTLY DANGEROUS SCHOOL 

 
A. Violent Criminal Offenses 

 
1. For purposes of identifying persistently dangerous schools, the following categories 

of violent criminal offenses are used (see appendix A for definitions of these 
offenses): 

 
• homicide, 
• forcible sex offenses, 
• kidnapping/abduction, 
• aggravated assault, 
• drug distribution, 
• robbery, and 
• weapons offenses. 

 
2. A public school or charter school will be designated as "persistently dangerous" if 

any two of the following situations exist for three consecutive years with regard to the 
occurrence of violent criminal offenses on its grounds. (See the explanation in 
Section II, immediately above, for the exception regarding the 2002-03 school year.) 

• homicide: one or more incidents in the school year 

• forcible sex offenses: one or more incidents in the school year 
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• kidnapping/abduction: one or more incidents in the school year 

• aggravated assault: (a) for a school with fewer than 500 students, five or more 
incidents in the school year; (b) for a school with 500 or more students, the total 
number of incidents in the school year represents 1 percent or more of the total 
student enrollment 

• drug distribution: (a) for a school with fewer than 500 students, five or more 
incidents in the school year; (b) for a school with 500 or more students, the total 
number of incidents in the school year represents 1 percent or more of the total 
student enrollment 

• robbery: (a) for a school with fewer than 500 students, five or more incidents in 
the school year; (b) for a school with 500 or more students, the total number of 
incidents in the school year represents 1 percent or more of the total student 
enrollment 

• weapons offenses: (a) for a school with fewer than 500 students, five or more 
incidents in the school year; (b) for a school with 500 or more students, the total 
number of incidents in the school year represents 1 percent or more of the total 
student enrollment 

 
B. Reporting Requirements 

 
1. The SCDE will develop and implement a standard reporting system for the 

adequate collection and reporting of the required data. All data must be provided to 
the SCDE on a quarterly basis; data for the fourth quarter of the school year must be 
submitted by June 2. 

 
2. In reporting violent criminal incidents to the SOE, a public school or charter school 

must also include nonstudent incidents and incidents occurring during extracurricular 
activities on its grounds. 

 
3. All school districts are required to retain school-level data for the last three 

consecutive school years. 
 

4.   Beginning in 2003, the SCDE will notify a local educational agency (LEA) by June 
10 each year if one or more of the LEA's schools have been identified as 
persistently dangerous. 

 
5. Upon initially receiving the designation "persistently dangerous," a school will have 

five working days to request that the SCDE review the determining data. 
 

6. By July 1, the SCDE will send final notice of a school's designation as 
"persistently dangerous." 

 
 
IV. INTERVENTIONFORAT-RISK SCHOOLS 

 
A. Public schools, including public charter schools, will be designated as "at risk of being 

persistently dangerous" if any violent criminal offense in the recognized categories (see 
above, section 3, item A), occurs on their grounds in any two categories in a single 
school year. 
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B. The SCDE will notify LEAs on an annual basis if one or more of its schools have 

been identified as "at risk of being persistently dangerous." 
 

C. Within thirty working days from the date of receiving notification from the SCDE that a 
school or schools within a particular LEA are at risk of becoming persistently dangerous, 
that LEA must submit an intervention plan to the SCDE for approval. Guidelines for 
creating an intervention plan will be developed by the SCDE. 

 
D. After an LEA's intervention plan is approved by the SCDE, the LEA will implement 

that plan. 
 

E. Any school identified as "at risk of being persistently dangerous" will be required to 
evaluate and, if necessary, revise its intervention plan one year after receiving this 
designation. 

 
 
V. PROVIDING A SAFE PUBLIC CHOICE OPTION TO STUDENTS 

 
A. Parental Notification 

 
LEAs having one or more schools designated as "persistently dangerous" must notify the 
parents of each student attending these particular schools that the schools have been 
given this designation. LEAs must notify parents within ten working days from the date 
that the LEA receives final notice of the "persistently dangerous" designation from the 
SOE. 

 
B. Transfer Policy for Students Attending Persistently Dangerous Schools 

 
To the extent possible, LEAs are to offer students attending persistently dangerous 
schools the opportunity to transfer to a safe public school, including a safe public charter 
school, within the LEA. 

 
1. Within twenty working days from the date that the LEA receives final notice of the 

"persistently dangerous" designation from the SCDE, the LEA must notify students 
attending the school and their parents concerning the student's opportunity to 
transfer. 

 
2. As it is stated in the Unsafe School Choice Option: Draft Non-Regulatory Guidance 

(United States Department of Education, July 23, 2002), "To the extent possible, 
LEAs should allow transferring students to transfer to a school that is making 
adequate yearly progress and has not been identified as being in school 
improvement, corrective action, or restructuring. The LEA is encouraged to take into 
account the needs and preferences of the affected students and parents." 

 
3. All transfers must be completed within thirty working days from the date that the LEA 

receives the final notice of the "persistently dangerous" designation from the SCDE. 
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4. The LEA must take into account the needs and preferences of the affected students 
and parents. 

 
5. If the LEA does not have another school that is appropriate for a transferring student, 

the LEA is encouraged, but not required, to explore other appropriate options such 
as an agreement with a neighboring LEA to accept transfer students. 

 
C. Length of Transfer 

 
1. The transfer may be temporary or permanent, but it must be in effect as long as the 

student's original school is identified as persistently dangerous. 
 

2. In determining whether the transfer should be temporary or permanent, LEAs are to 
consider the educational needs of the student as well as other factors affecting the 
student's ability to succeed if returned to the transferring school. 

 
D. Transportation 

 
1. An  LEA with  one or  more of  its schools  identified  as  persistently  dangerous  is  

not required to cover the cost of a student's transportation to a safe public school. 
 

E. Corrective Action Plan 
 

1. LEAs with one or more schools identified as persistently dangerous must develop a 
corrective action plan that is based on an analysis of the problems faced by each 
school in that particular LEA and that addresses the conditions that resulted in the 
school's being identified as persistently dangerous. The corrective action plan must 
be submitted to the SCDE for approval within forty-five days after the LEA receives 
the final notice of the "persistently dangerous" designation. 

 
2. After the corrective action plan has been approved by SCDE, the LEA must 

implement the approved plan in a timely matter. 
 
 
VI. TECHNICAL  ASSISTANCE 

 
As the approved corrective action plan or intervention plan is implemented, the SCDE will 
provide technical assistance to LEAs with one or more schools designated as "persistently 
dangerous" or "at risk of being persistently dangerous." The SCDE will also monitor the 
LEA's timely implementation of the plans. 

 
 
VII. REMOVAL OF DESIGNATION 

 
A. Upon the full implementation of its approved corrective action plan, an LEA may apply to 

the SCDE to have the designated school(s) removed from the list of persistently 
dangerous schools. 

 
B. After ensuring that all corrective action has been completed, the SCDE will annually 

reassess the designated school(s) using the criteria for the identification of persistently 
dangerous schools. If a designated school does not meet any of these criteria in the 
preceding year, the designation will be removed. 
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Part 2 
 

Students Who Become Victims of Violent Criminal Offenses 
 
 
I. TRANSFER  OF STUDENTS 

 
A. A student who becomes the victim of a violent crime as defined by S.C. Code Ann. § 16-

1-60 (2001) while in or on the grounds of a public school that he or she attends must be 
offered the opportunity to transfer to a safe public school, including a public charter 
school, in the particular LEA within ten calendar days. (See the appendix B for t h e  
violent offenses that are defined in Title 16 of the Code of Laws of South Carolina.) 

 
B. As it is stated in the Unsafe School Choice Option: Draft Non-Regulatory Guidance 

(United States Department of Education, July 23, 2002), 'To the extent possible, LEAs 
should allow transferring students to transfer to a school that is making adequate yearly 
progress and has not been identified as being in school improvement, corrective action, 
or restructuring. The LEA is encouraged to take into account the needs and preferences 
of the affected students and parents." 

 
C. LEAs are to take into account the needs and preferences of the affected students and 

parents. 
 

D. If the LEA does not have another school that is appropriate for a transferring student, the 
LEA is encouraged, but not required, to explore other appropriate options such as an 
agreement with a neighboring LEA to accept transfer students. 

 
 
II. LENGTH OF TRANSFER 

 
A. The transfer may be temporary or permanent. 

 
B. In determining whether the transfer should be temporary or permanent, LEAs are to 

consider the educational needs of the student who has become the victim of a violent 
criminal offense as well as other factors affecting the student's ability to succeed  if 
returned to the transferring school. 

 
 
Ill. TRANSPORTATION 

 
If a student who becomes a victim of a violent criminal offense as defined in S.C. Code 
Ann. § 16-1-60 (2001) exercises the option to transfer to another public school, the LEA 
is not required to cover the cost of a student's transportation to a safe public school. 

 
 

 

 
The SCDE will review and update these guidelines as needed. 
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APPENDIX A 

Offenses Defined 
 

For the purpose of identifying persistently dangerous schools, the categories and definitions for 
criminal offenses to be reported are the same as those reported for the School Crime Incident 
Report for South Carolina Public Schools and by the State Law Enforcement Division for the 
National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS). The NIBRS categories and definitions are 
used to uniformly classify crimes committed throughout the United States. In order to be 
reported to the South Carolina Department of Education, an incident must occur in or on the 
grounds of a public school or a public charter school. (The term incident is defined as any 
occurrence or event that could result in criminal charges being brought.) 

 
 
aggravated assault. An unlawful attack by one person upon another wherein the offender uses 

a weapon or displays it in a threatening manner or the victim suffers obvious severe or 
aggravated bodily injury involving apparent broken bones, loss of teeth, possible internal 
injury, severe laceration, or loss of consciousness. This category includes attempted murder. 
A weapon can be a commonly known weapon, such as a gun or knife, or any other item 
which, although not usually thought of as a weapon, becomes one when used in a manner 
that could cause severe bodily injury (e.g., baseball bat, metal chain, large stick). A "severe 
laceration" is one that should receive medical attention. A "loss of consciousness" must be 
the direct result of force inflicted on the victim by the offender. 

 
homicide. The killing of one human being by another. Do not include vehicular manslaughter 

or attempted murder. 
murder and non-negligent manslaughter. The willful (non-negligent) killing of one 

human being by another. Attempted murder should be reported as aggravated 
assault. 

negligent manslaughter. The killing of another person through negligence. This offense 
does not include vehicular manslaughter. 

justifiable homicide. The killing of a perpetrator of a serious criminal offense by a 
peace officer in the line of duty or the killing, during the commission of a serious 
criminal offense, of the perpetrator by a private individual. 

 
drug distribution. Except as authorized by state law, it is unlawful for any person (1) to 

manufacture, distribute, dispense, deliver, or purchase; or to aid, abet, attempt, or conspire 
to manufacture, distribute, dispense, deliver, or purchase; or to possess with intent to 
manufacture, distribute, dispense, deliver, or purchase a controlled substance and (2) to 
create, distribute, dispense, deliver, or purchase; or to aid, abet, attempt, or conspire to 
create, distribute, dispense, deliver, or purchase; or to possess with intent to distribute, 
dispense, deliver, or purchase a counterfeit substance. 

 
kidnapping/abduction. The unlawful seizure, transportation, and/or detention of a person 

against his or her will or of a minor without the consent of his or her custodial parent(s) or 
legal  guardian. This category includes hostage-taking. 
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robbery. Taking or attempting to take anything of value under confrontational circumstances 
from the control, custody, or care of another person by force or threat of force or violence 
and/or by putting the victim in fear of immediate harm. Because some type of assault is an 
element of the crime of robbery, an assault should not be reported as a separate crime if it is 
performed in furtherance of the robbery. If an injury occurring during a robbery results in 
death, the crime should be listed as a homicide. 

 
sex offenses, forcible. Any sexual act directed against another person, forcibly and/or against 

that person's will, or not forcibly or against the person's will where the victim is incapable of 
giving consent. This definition includes forcible rape, forcible sodomy, sexual assault with an 
object (to use an object or instrument to unlawfully penetrate, however slightly, the genital or 
anal opening of the body of another person, forcibly and/or against that person's will, or not 
forcibly or against the person's will where the victim is incapable of giving consent because 
of his or her youth or because of his or her temporary or permanent mental or physical 
incapacity), and/or forcible fondling (child molesting). 

 
weapons offenses. The violation of laws prohibiting any person, except law enforcement 

officers or personnel authorized by school officials, to carry on his or her person, while on 
any elementary or secondary school property, a knife with a blade over two inches long, a 
blackjack, a metal pipe or pole, firearms, or any other type of weapon, device, or object that 
may be used to inflict bodily injury or death. This category also includes carrying in a 
concealed manner a dirk, slingshot, metal knuckles, razor, or other deadly weapon usually 
used for the infliction of personal injury. 
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APPENDIX 8 
 

From Title 16 of the Code of Laws of South Carolina 
 

SECTION 16-1-60. Violent crimes defined. 
 

For purposes of definition under South Carolina law, a violent crime includes the offenses of 
murder (Section 16-3-1O); criminal sexual conduct in the first and second degree (Sections 
16-3-652 and 16-3-653); criminal sexual conduct with minors, first and second degree (Section 
16-3-655); assault with intent to commit criminal sexual conduct, first and second degree 
(Section 16-3-656); assault and battery with intent to kill (Section 16-3-620); kidnapping (Section 
16-3-910); voluntary manslaughter (Section 16-3-50); armed robbery (Section 16-11-330(A)); 
attempted armed robbery (Section 16-11-330(8)); carjacking (Section 16-3-1075); drug 
trafficking as defined in Sections 44-53-370(e) and 44-53-375(C); arson in the first degree 
(Section 16-11-110(A)); arson in the second degree (Section 16-11-110 (8)); burglary in the first 
degree (Section 16-11-311); burglary in the second degree (Section 16-11-312 (8)); engaging a 
child for a sexual performance (Section 16-3-810); homicide by child abuse (Section 16-3- 
85(A)(1)); aiding and abetting homicide by child abuse  (Section 16-3-85(A)(2)); inflicting 
great bodily injury upon a child (Section 16-3-95(A)); allowing great bodily injury to be inflicted 
upon a child (Section 16-3-95(8)); abuse or neglect of a vulnerable adult resulting in death 
(Section 43-35-85(F)); abuse or neglect of a vulnerable adult resulting in great bodily injury 
(Section 43-35-85(E)); accessory before the fact to commit any of the above offenses (Section 
16-1-40); attempt to commit any of the above offenses (Section 16-1-80); and taking of a 
hostage by an inmate (Section 24-13-450). Only those offenses specifically enumerated in this 
section are considered violent offenses. 
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